Final Project Ramblings

As of right now, I am sitting in the Las Vegas airport just short of a few hours of being home in Ohio! But by the time you read this online, I’ll already be home. I want to fill you in on the last few days of project…

Our last week of project was titled “Mobi Week” which means mobilization! We spent Monday through Wednesday gaining tools, preparing testimonies and receiving resources on how to mobilize our campuses and those in our lives. It was somewhat overwhelming because we got a ton of information in the short time of three days. I’m really excited to go back to Toledo and share what I’ve learned! Also share with my family and coworkers at Regal. One of the most useful trainings for me was preparing our 3-5 minute testimony. A lot of ya’ll are going to ask me how my summer was and I just don’t want to say the basic, “Oh it was so amazing and awesome! I had a great time!” Yes those things are so true, but I want to give you a look into what God did inside my heart as well. So here’s a little sneak preview into my testimony:

*Person: Hey Erika! How was your summer?

*Me: Oh my gosh it was so amazing! God did a total 360 in my perspective of the world. I also fell in love with a country I always turned off to…

To hear the rest, you’ll have to ask me 🙂

Our last night of project was very memorable! We drove to Huntington Beach where we just enjoyed each other before we parted ways. This consisted of volleyball, Frisbee, walking on the beach and the girls taking a ton of pictures! We did a really neat activity as a way of encouraging every person. Everyone had a piece of paper with their name on it and we passed it around the circle and each person had to write a note of encouragement for the person on the paper. Make sense? It was so fun! What made it fun was that we made it anonymous. I still don’t know who wrote what on my paper and its semi-driving me crazy haha. Once it got dark, we made smores around the fire and did our own thing. I took a walk on the beach and it was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. The ocean at night seems to be an even more powerful force than in the day time. And the stars were shining so brightly. It was such a perfect moment between my Creator and I.  I just stared out into the water thinking about my summer and how my life is going to change within the next few years. I’m scared, excited and nervous about God’s plans for my life. All I know is that He holds me in the palm of His hand and has everything under control.

After we got back from the beach, everyone finished up packing, hanging out and exchanging pictures and such. It was some fun last-minute bonding. I ended up going to sleep at 1:45 am! That’s the latest I went to bed all of project. But then I woke up at 3:30 to say bye to my roomie Sarah and the next hour to send my other roommate Lindsey off. By that time, it was 5:00 and I just decided to stay awake, hang out and see others off. So we’re going to get real for a little bit…I didn’t cry the whole time while saying bye to people, which is surprising because I cry a lot. Then when it was time for me to leave, the tears started flowing. As I was saying bye to the last group of people, I realized that it was the last time I was going to see all of these people in the same time and place. I don’t think its bad thing to cry because these were people I did life with the past 7 weeks. We grew bonds and attachments that nothing on this earth can break. I’m thankful for friendships where the Lord is over them because it gives me hope that they’ll last forever. I’m looking forward to eternity when our project will be reunited on the upper right-hand corner of Heaven! Until then, I’m praying fervently for them that their biggest dreams will complete the purpose set out before the foundations of the world were laid, that all nations on earth will know the one true God!

To my supporters, expect a newsletter on what happened in California in September!

Leave a Reply

