Children of the Day

Not sure if I’ve shared with you or not, but I am apart of our Staff Women’s Bible Study and we’re going through Beth Moore’s Children of the Day study. What an incredible blessing to be reading through 1&2 Thessalonians with a new perspective and gaining so much knowledge of this book. I highly recommend you to go through this study, you’ll love it!005600950

I wanted to share some little tidbits from the homework I completed a few days ago…

For you are all children of light, children of the day…” 1 Thessalonians 5:5

Honest moment here…I am very afraid of the dark. I know that seems like a child-like fear, but I get so fearful because it’s hard to see in the dark. I have no idea what’s out there and that worries me. Thankfully, God is patient in helping me deal with this. He is so good!

This verse encourages me so because I do not belong to that fear. That fear does not own me. It only has the amount of power over me that I allow it to have. Because I belong to Jesus, I am a daughter of the day.

I love that beautiful, but simple phrase: Erika, a child of the day.

Now you try it: {insert your name}, child of the day

That breathes so much life into my soul I can’t even describe to you. Even typing it out now refreshes me.

I want you to know that when you are walking with Jesus, there will be times that it seems like complete darkness surrounds us and there is no way out. Trust me, I’ve been there. I’ve walked the fear-driven path many times. It’s so dark and unknown, but yet, still so familiar that we keep going back to it.

To overcome that fear, there are many ways, but meditating on truth is one of the best paths! Take this verse with you today and I pray that it encourages you to overcome your fear/struggle. You have the power to overcome that darkness!

Child of the day, you are the light of the world. A city on a hill. Shine that light so brightly…

Leave a Reply

